

Policy Committee

Avon Board of Education 34 Simsbury Road, Avon, Connecticut

Mission Statement

Our mission is to inspire in each student a joy and passion for learning and a commitment to excellence, personal integrity, and social responsibility.

Monday, September 19, 2022 5:30 pm

via virtual meeting

The Board will conduct this meeting remotely. Please email Shirley Moy, smooy@avon.k12.ct.us, not less than twenty-four (24) hours prior to the meeting if you require any electronic equipment necessary to attend such meeting in real-time. In such cases, the Board will provide a physical location and the necessary electronic equipment. Please be advised that the same opportunities to provide comment or testimony and otherwise participate in such meeting if such meeting were held in person will continue to apply.

To join Zoom meeting, click on link below:

https://avonk12ctus.zoom.us/j/87827741399?pwd=NDI4dE5vQUVsQkQ5b0o1czd2a0FhUT09

To join by phone, call: 646-558-8656 or 301-715-8592

Meeting ID: 878 2774 1399 Passcode: 268403

Agenda

- I. Call to Order
- II. Approval of April 5, 2022 Minutes
- III. Communication from Public

Communications are generally limited to 15 minutes as a total maximum for all speakers, with each speaker limited to 3 minutes in accordance with standing Board policy. The Board may wave these limits in exceptional circumstances. Members of the public must indicate their desire to speak by contacting the Zoom host, Shirley Moy, via Zoom chat once the meeting starts. Guests will be called to speak in order notification is received and speakers must identify themselves with their name and address.

- IV. New Business Items for Review and Discussion
 - a. Policy 6146.12 Advanced Courses and Challenging Curriculum
 - b. Policy 6146.1 Basis for Grading
 - c. Policy 5125.1 Student Privacy
 - d. Policy 6162.51 Surveys of Students
 - e. Policy 6161 Selection of Educational Materials
- V. Future Items for Review
 - a. School Volunteers & Parent Involvement
 - b. Homework Policy
- VI. Adjournment

Committee Members:

Laura Young, Chair Deb Chute Lisa Seminara Thej Singh